Owls for Fiona

This weekend was another adventure in learning to create cupcakes to a theme.  Jake asked me to make chocolate and owl themed cakes for Fiona’s birthday so I dutifully spent days perfecting a chocolate ganache buttercream….which, in the end, happened quite by accident.  What fortune in accidents though as I now have a pretty much indestructable chocolate ganache buttercream which was so delicious. IMG_8963

Following the perfection of the extra special buttercream I then set about creating the owls, roses and leaves to go on top.  Phil did point out, as is his way, that the scale was a little off but I told him to use his imagination and that these were a particular kind of minature owl….or a particular kind of giant leaf….Either way, I had to work with what I had…giant leaves, small owls.

IMG_8964

IMG_8966

I was a bit over excited with the prospect of buttercreaming a large cake and then having such a bigger surface to decorate than the usual cupcake so I think I could probably tone down the decoration a little bit next time. It’s quite a crowded tree up there.

IMG_8968

And perhaps two types of leaves is unncessary.  Next time I think I’ll make two of these cakes sandwiched together so the cake is a bit taller, then some of the owls could have sat on the sides.

IMG_8972IMG_8979

But I’m happy with the finished products although, once again the paper cases were really testing my patience this week.  I think this is all to do with the moisture getting into them on cooling. I think I left them sitting in the baking tray for too long and they all peeled away from the paper. So frustrating but I have learnt not to do that again.

