Wedding tower

On Friday I made my first wedding tower of cupcakes for my friend at work.  He very kindly let me make his evening wedding cakes and I learnt lots about making large numbers of cakes, storage, delivery and setting up as well as how long things can take.  It was really a great experience and I’m really grateful to Jon and Lucy for letting me do this.

Here’s the top cupcake which I suddenly decided needed to stand out a bit more than the other cakes. I’m so glad I did and equally glad that Wendy helped me make these – thanks Wendy who is turning out to be a bit of a star sugar paste manipulator and royal icing dot piper.

IMG_9705

It was a quite a picture to see 150 cakes on my dining room table all iced and glittered in their New York theme. I really understand the value of some of the hand piping and hand cut sugar paste and how they are so time consuming.

IMG_9709

Here’s the lot of cakes, just after a liberal dusting of glitter.

IMG_9721

IMG_9734

The lighting wasn’t great and although Phil had set the camera to deal with low level lighting I could have done with him there to fiddle around with ISO and apertures etc which I have little knowledge of. But I think you can see the final 10 tier stand of cakes in the photo just about clearly enough.

IMG_9741

And of course the tiers don’t actually hold that many cakes, so nearly half of the cakes spilled out onto the table. I think this looked ok though.

Coming up next, a two work colleagues share a box of cakes and a friend and her husband celebrate their 40th birthdays with a pub quiz, pie and cupcake!  Then of course it’s Millie’s birthday and a bit of a surprise for another friend….

Leave a Reply

